What Exactly is a Vegetarian? All You Need to Know!

Vegetables, Egg and Seasoning

Many unique diets have gained incredible popularity over the years. But, of course, one of the most popular is vegetarianism. Less restrictive than veganism, vegetarians often choose to eat this way because of health, ethical, environmental, or religious motivations.

As with any diet or habitual changes, there are often many questions about what foods are off-limits. While how you eat is a choice that is your own, it helps to understand the restrictions of specific diets.

Some people consider the “rules” of a diet to be necessary to follow, while others see them as more of a guide. The great news is that vegetarianism isn’t as restrictive as most people think.

Table of Contents [Hide]

  1. What Does Vegetarian Mean?
  2. The Types of Vegetarianism:
  3. Two Variations of Vegetarianism
  4. What Foods Can Vegetarians Eat?
  5. What Foods Can't Vegetarians Eat?
  6. The Benefits of Vegetarianism
  7. Final Thoughts on What is a Vegetarian

What Does Vegetarian Mean?

Believe it or not, vegetarians are expected to have practiced their dietary choices since 700 B.C. Like any diet, there are many different ways to practice vegetarianism.

Some follow a more restrictive routine than others, but a few commonly held principles of vegetarianism are imperative to this specific way of eating.

There are four primary “types” of vegetarians. Of course, how one eats is a personal choice and does not mean one will fit into just one category of vegetarianism.

However, it is common for those eliminating or restricting animal products and by-products to observe and implement these practices.

The 4 Types of Vegetarianism:

  1. Lacto Vegetarian: These vegetarians do not consume any animal flesh or eggs but will eat dairy products.
  2. Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian: These vegetarians avoid animal flesh but consume both eggs and dairy products.
  3. Ovo Vegetarians: Vegetarians who will eat eggs but avoid all other animal products, including dairy.
  4. Vegans: Some consider veganism to be entirely separate from vegetarianism. Vegans also do not eat animal flesh or other animal-derived products, including dairy and eggs.

Two Variations of Vegetarianism

1. Pescatarian

Follow a vegetarian diet but choose to include fish and seafood in their meals.

It is common to hear a pescatarian referred to as a vegetarian who eats fish. But just because it’s common doesn’t mean it’s true. The flexibility allowed within the confines of using the word “vegetarian” ends when any sort of animal flesh, including fish, is consumed.

A pescatarian typically follows a diet of fruit, vegetables, grains, possibly dairy, and anything that comes from the sea! They choose vegetarianism with the inclusion of fish. For some, it is the best of both worlds.

2. Flexitarian

It does not strictly follow a vegetarian diet and occasionally incorporates meat, fish, and poultry.

Because diets are so personal, giving them names and labels almost seems silly. After all, just because you focus on eating one way doesn’t mean you can’t opt for something new or different occasionally. This school of thought is ideally in line with flexitarians. Now, what is that?

A flexitarian consumes a plant-based or vegetarian diet with one noticeable difference – they occasionally eat meat and fish.

It is essential to remember that Flexitarians can spend anywhere from three to four days each week going meatless while using the remaining days enjoying whatever foods they like. And yes, they can keep meat on the menu on those days.

Some vegetarians or pescatarians will not acknowledge flexitarians as following the same type of diet they follow. This is because the flexitarian diet has no rules, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t a valuable diet choice.

What Foods Can Vegetarians Eat?

  • Vegetables: Leafy greens, broccoli, asparagus, tomatoes, carrots
  • Fruits: Bananas, apples, oranges, berries, melons, peaches, pears
  • Legumes: Beans, peas, chickpeas, lentils
  • Grains: Rice, oats, quinoa, barley, buckwheat
  • Seeds: Flaxseeds, chia, and hemp seeds
  • Nuts: Almonds, walnuts, chestnuts, cashews
  • Healthy fats: Olive oil, avocados
  • Proteins: Dairy, tofu, eggs, tempeh, seitan, natto, nutritional yeast, spirulina.

What Foods Can’t Vegetarians Eat?

  • Red meat
  • Poultry
  • Fish
  • Game
  • Shellfish
  • Sometimes, other animal-derived products

The Benefits of Vegetarianism

There are many unique reasons for choosing vegetarianism or veganism as a lifestyle. Not everyone “goes” vegan or vegetarian for the same reason.

Ultimately, how you eat is a personal decision, and it’s crucial to ensure you choose the diet that is best for you, your goals, and your lifestyle.

Health Benefits

Along with those focused on primarily plant-based diets, pescatarians enjoy more health benefits than those who consume many meat and animal products. For example, plant-based diets lower the risk of developing diabetes and heart disease while maintaining a healthy weight.

Additionally, pescatarians incorporate more essential vitamins, proteins, and fats into their diet by consuming modest amounts of fish and seafood.

Environmental Impact

Not every vegetarian, pescatarian, or vegan chooses their lifestyle because of health concerns. Instead, many choose it to decrease their carbon footprint.

Raising and maintaining livestock takes an incredible toll on the environment.

Harvesting and distributing fish and seafood is less environmentally taxing and allows vegetarians to enjoy meat-like products without consuming livestock and land animals.

Ethical Practices

Some become vegans, vegetarians, and pescatarians because it better aligns with their ethics and morals. For example, some are opposed to killing animals or how they are treated in factories and lots.

Others are against supporting an industry that offers poor work conditions for its workers. And for some, it comes down to meat consumption being unsustainable and wasting plenty of resources.

Final Thoughts on What is a Vegetarian

Incorporating vegetables and plants into your diet has never been easier without feeling deprived or fighting cravings.

With many plant-based substitutes like Beyond Meat and Impossible, finding a realistic meat substitute that tastes good is a much more successful process.

Say goodbye to soggy, sad veggie burgers from the freezer.

The most important thing to remember is that the foods you eat are satisfying, make you feel good, and align with your beliefs.

The possibilities are endless when it comes to food. A little creativity and inventiveness can go a long way! If you’re considering becoming a vegetarian, remember that you don’t have to forgo everything you once knew.

Related Content: Do Vegetarians Eat Fish?

You May Also Like