What Foods Do Vegetarians Eat? Your Questions Answered

Vegetables, Egg and Seasoning

Adopting a vegetarian diet means avoiding meat, fish, poultry, and other products containing these ingredients, like gelatin or rennet.

This means a vegetarian diet predominantly comprises fruits, vegetables, eggs, dairy, and legumes.

There are a couple of other variations of vegetarianism. Some people may exclude dairy products but allow eggs, or vice versa. This often relates to personal preferences, but individuals would still refer to themselves as vegetarians.

Jump to Section [Hide]

Top 10 Foods that Vegetarians Eat

1. Vegetables & Fruits

Vegetables and fruits are staples of a vegetarian lifestyle, but other foods also comprise this diet. The focus is usually on ensuring individuals are eating enough protein.

2. Legumes

Legumes, such as beans, peas, and lentils, are carbohydrate-heavy but an excellent source of lean protein. They also contain iron, calcium, fiber, and antioxidants and help lower cholesterol and the risk of diabetes and heart disease.

Legume products can be used in apparent recipes such as bean burgers, chilies, salads, hummus, which contains chickpeas, or brownies using black beans.

3. Nuts & Seeds

Incorporating nuts, seeds, and legumes into a vegetarian diet is a great way to provide essential nutrients.

Nuts and seeds are excellent protein sources and even better healthy fats, including mono- and polyunsaturated plant oils. They are also calorie-dense, which is a good way to ensure you meet your calorie goals and do not undereat when transitioning to this diet.

4. Eggs

A vegetarian diet generally includes eggs and dairy products like milk, cheese, butter, and yogurt, which sets it apart from veganism. These are key ingredients for many recipes, allowing for more varied meals and more options when eating in restaurants.

Eggs offer many nutritional benefits. They are a great source of protein and provide essential vitamins like D and B12 and minerals like calcium. They are also incredibly versatile and can be the central part of a dish, such as an omelet or scrambled eggs, or even an ingredient in a recipe like pasta, shakshuka, or cakes.

5. Dairy

Various dairy products, including many different kinds of cheese, cream, and milk, are used in almost every aspect of cooking. They contain high calcium levels, are a substantial source of fat, and contain protein; milk whey is a significant component in many protein powders.

If lactose intolerance is a concern, vegetarians can choose to eat goat cheese or sheep cheese like feta, as the body usually tolerates these better because of the lower levels of lactose.

6. Plant Meat

Many brands create imitation meat products, like Tofurky, Quorn, Impossible, and Beyond Meat. These can be made of many different types of plant protein, but generally, it is soy-based, as this is the most accessible and neutral-tasting option.

7. Fake Meat

Vegetarians often incorporate fake meat into their diet, allowing them to enjoy their favorite meals, like burgers or sausages, but continue to eat plant-based foods. Some of these products can contain additives or a long list of ingredients, making them not necessarily the healthiest choice.

8. Tofu

Both products are made from soybeans, but tofu is created from pressed soy milk, whereas tempeh is made from fermenting the soybeans, resulting in different flavors and textures. Tofu can range from soft to firm in texture and generally has a mild taste that easily soaks up flavor.

9. Tempeh

Tempeh, conversely, has a distinct nutty or earthy flavor and is usually quite chewy as it contains whole beans. This means they both have very different uses, as tofu is very versatile and can be used to make soft cheesecakes or crunchy deep-fried pieces that marinate in a curry. In contrast, tempeh is usually used directly as a meat substitute.

Tofu and Tempeh are excellent protein sources. One serving of tofu has 8 grams of protein, and tempeh has 16 grams and is high in fiber.

Tempeh has various natural benefits, such as containing many prebiotics, while tofu offers higher calcium levels.

Due to their similar base ingredients, tofu and tempeh products are often grouped together. However, they should be incorporated into a vegetarian diet and used in different meals to provide a well-rounded diet.

10. Seitan

Seitan is a natural option you can buy in shops or even make at home. It is made from wheat gluten, the protein within wheat.

Making seitan involves mixing wheat flour and water, then kneading until a sticky dough develops.

Rinsing the dough removes the starch, leaving pure gluten protein that can be flavored and cooked by steaming or baking.

Seitan is incredibly high in protein—21 grams per serving—low in fat and good at soaking up different flavors, making it a great meat replacement.

What Foods Should Vegetarians Watch Out For?

1. Cheese

Most cheese is usually fine for vegetarians, but many contain rennet, the stomach lining of cows and sheep. It is used to separate solid milk from water to form cheese.

2. Rennet

It is becoming more common to find vegetarian-friendly versions of rennet used in cheese. Still, certain varieties, like traditional parmesan, must contain animal rennet because of manufacturing guidelines.

3. Gelatin

Gelatin is another product to look out for, as it is made from boiled animal skin, tendons, and bones. It is usually found in anything jelly-like, including chewy candy, marshmallows, yogurts, and desserts like mousse.

Vegetarians may avoid eating this, or some continue to enjoy their favorite foods due to the low amount of animal products.

4. Soups, Gravy, or Casseroles

Consider vegetable stock as the base stock for soups, gravies, and casseroles, which often contain meat. Vegetable stock is an excellent alternative and can usually be used interchangeably.

5. Asian Dishes

Some other dishes appear vegetarian but contain meat products, like many Asian dishes that use fish sauce, or other products that contain animal lard, like pastries. Confirming the ingredients used or making your own at home is best.

6. Wine and Beer

Wine and beer may seem vegetarian-friendly, but many use animal products to produce alcohol. This is most common in filtration, where manufacturers use fish swim bladders, gelatin, and casein when making the alcohol.

Wine and beer companies are becoming more common in stating whether their products are vegetarian-friendly, so the best advice is to check the label if this is an issue.

Why Do People Choose a Vegetarian Diet?

1. Health

The reasons for becoming a vegetarian can often stem from wanting to follow a healthier diet, as there is a focus on consuming more fruits and vegetables.

2. Environmental

It can also be due to ethical concerns about the treatment of animals or even environmental reasons due to the impact animal agriculture has on climate change, with significant greenhouse gas emissions, water, and energy use.

3. Disease

Eating vegetarian can reduce your risk of developing cardiovascular disease by 25% and reduce incidences of developing cancer by 8%.

4. Obesity

Reducing your meat intake has also been shown to lead to lower levels of obesity, resulting in a 35% reduction in the likelihood of developing type-2 diabetes. This is often because those following this diet focus on eating healthy, fresh, whole foods and might even increase their activity levels to improve their overall health.

5. Save Animals

From an environmental perspective, eating vegetarian results in 2.5 times less land being used for agriculture than eating meat and at least 26% fewer greenhouse gas emissions.

One study outlined that, on average, a meat eater consumes 11,000 animals in a lifetime; therefore, a vegetarian diet also saves the lives of many animals.

Final Thoughts

Always speak with a healthcare professional if you change your diet or eliminate certain foods so they can closely monitor your health and prevent any deficiencies.

Vegetarianism is associated with low iron or B12 levels because of reduced meat intake, which is something to consider.

You May Also Like