Is Oat Milk Vegan? Here’s What You Need to Know!

Oat Milk

Vegan milk, also referred to as plant milk, nut milk, and non-dairy milk, has been enjoyed in many regions of the world for ages for a number of reasons. Some people drink it for health purposes, such as a lactose or dairy milk allergy, while others do it for nutritional value.

However, as more people around the world go vegan, they are becoming more aware of the darker aspects of dairy, such as the cruelty it does to cows and the harm it brings to the environment and one’s health.

As a result, plant-based milk has become increasingly popular among those who follow a vegan diet, but is this plant-based milk alternative truly vegan? Keep reading to find out!

Is Oat Milk Vegan?

Those abstaining from eating any sort of animal product otherwise referred to as a vegan diet will be happy to learn that this delicious milk alternative is vegan!

Despite the name, oat milk doesn’t contain a single drop of dairy or animal-sourced milk. Because oat milk is water and oat-based and doesn’t involve any kind of animal labor, it is completely vegan.

The lack of dairy, soy, lactose, gluten, and nuts also makes oat milk a great option for those with stomach issues.

Vegan Oat Milk Alternatives

Before the development of multiple vegan milk alternatives, those who stick to this plant-based diet only had one option: soy milk.

Now, there are plenty of options to choose from. These include “milk” made from almonds, cashews, rice, coconut, hemp – this list goes on, and there are sure to be others that find their way to supermarket shelves.

Oat milk is, by far, one of the most popular milk alternatives currently available. But does this vegan favorite have more nutritional benefits than its competition? The truth is the best non-dairy milk looks different for everyone.

While vegans certainly want to ensure their milk is providing nutrients, they may have trouble including it in their plant-based diet, but that doesn’t mean they don’t have other health goals and concerns.

Soy Milk

For example, soy milk has fewer calories than oat milk and has a nutritional profile that is most similar to cow’s milk. It provides more protein and all the essential amino acids which must be included in one’s diet. However, it’s not for those with a soy allergy, and its effect on hormones is still not completely researched and understood.

Almond Milk

Almond milk has fewer calories and carbohydrates than oat milk. So, it makes a great alternative for those keeping a close eye on these measurements. Almond milk, like oat milk, also contains a unique set of nutrients – one of which is vitamin E.

Vitamin E helps to protect the body against free radicals, which can cause disease. However, almond milk contains less fiber, protein, and other vitamins and minerals.

Coconut Milk

Coconut is made similarly to oat milk; it is simply water and coconut flesh. While coconut milk has its own set of beneficial properties, it is sadly more difficult to confirm whether or not it is a true vegan alternative. This is because certain brands rely on animal labor to harvest coconuts.

Rice Milk

Like oat milk, rice milk is a safe alternative for vegans who deal with food allergies, such as dairy, soy, gluten, or nuts. However, while rice milk does not rely on any animal products or labor, it is not as nutritionally rich. It contains almost double the carbohydrates of other kinds of milk, including cow’s milk.

Other Alternatives

There are countless vegan milk alternatives that each offer their own set of benefits for those following a vegan and plant-based diet. Learning a little about each “milk” will help you choose which one (or few) best meets your dietary and lifestyle needs.

How is Oat Milk Made?

Oat milk consists of steel-cut oats or whole groats that are soaked in water, blended, and then strained with a cheesecloth or a special nut milk bag.

“While the leftover oat pulp has the bulk of the fiber and most of the protein in the oats, the liquid or ‘milk’ left at the end of the process has some nutrients in oats.

Because oats absorb water more readily than nuts, more of the food itself passes through the cheesecloth when blended thoroughly, resulting in a richer and creamier texture than nut milk without their commonly added ingredients.

Can You Make Your Own Oat Milk?

There are many reasons why vegans, or anyone, would want to make their own oat milk or other plant-based alternatives.

Making your own is often cheaper than purchasing a half-gallon at the store. And as anyone following a vegan diet knows, vegan diets require many fresh, organic, and raw food – all of which are expensive when compared to packaged and processed food.

Another advantage of making your own oat milk is that you have absolute control over the ingredients and the process, and some simply enjoy and prefer making their own food.

However, while oat milk is essentially vegan in all of its forms, that doesn’t mean it is free from additives found in many pre-made, packaged foods.

Those who make their own oat milk swear that it is creamier than its store-bought counterparts. You only need a few things to make your own batch – oats, salt, water, a blender, and a fine-mesh strainer. Those who prefer sweeter milk can add vanilla extract, dates, or even maple syrup!

The Benefits of Oat Milk For Vegans

There are many advantages to incorporating oat milk into your diet that extend past the fact that it is vegan. For example, some vegans have food allergies or sensitivities, which can make it even more difficult to find vegan-friendly food and reliable alternatives.

Luckily, oat milk is made without many of the foods that contribute to popular digestive issues.

Store-bought oat milk is often fortified with essential vitamins like vitamin D and vitamin B12. These are two crucial vitamins that are usually lacking in a vegan diet. Therefore, drinking oat milk is an easy way to ensure you include at least part of your recommended daily intake.

Believe it or not, oat milk contains more vitamin D than cow’s milk. Besides vitamins B, B12, and D, oat milk also provides vitamin A. Vitamin A is found in both plant-based foods and animal products such as milk and eggs. Vitamin A is especially important for proper eye, bone, and cellular health.

Oat Milk Nutrition Facts

Not only is oat milk a delicious, vegan-friendly cow’s milk alternative, but it also provides great nutrition and a variety of health benefits. A one-cup serving of oat milk comes in around 120 calories and provides:

  • 5 grams of fat
  • 2 grams of fiber
  • 3 grams of protein
  • 16 grams of carbohydrates
  • 7 grams of sugar

Oat milk also provides about 25% of the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D. This is especially important for those who follow a vegan diet, as it commonly lacks an adequate amount of this essential vitamin.

Oat milk is also often fortified with B vitamins such as riboflavin and B12 – another common deficit found among vegans.

Using Oat Milk For Vegan Recipes

While oat milk makes a fantastic drink on its own, it is also a great ingredient for a wide variety of vegan recipes and staples. Of course, the lightly toasted oat flavor is already a favorite compliment to a cup of coffee, but it can also be used in your favorite baking recipes, such as cake, cupcakes, bread, and even muffins.

Are you craving a bit of fettuccine Alfredo? Oat milk is a fantastic substitute for cow’s milk or cream in recipes that need an ingredient to make a dish creamy. With a little creativity, you can incorporate oat milk into many of your favorite vegan recipes.

Final Thoughts on is Oat Milk Vegan

Just because oat milk is plant-based doesn’t mean that it is vegan. Honey and coconut milk (certain brands) are two perfect examples of foods that don’t include any animal products but do rely on animal labor. Luckily, you don’t have to worry about that with oat milk.

Because oat milk is free of animal products and animal labor, it is 100% vegan friendly! This means that you can enjoy it in your coffee, meals, and desserts without having to worry about it aligning with your dietary choices.

You can make it at home or easily find it on the shelf at your nearest grocery store – the hardest part will have to choose from so many different brands.

Related content: Is Soy Milk Vegan?

Other Helpful Articles